Timelines & Chronologies
Are you creating a timeline as a history assignment, as a family history page, or for a family birthday or anniversary? Here are some helpful books and websites that contain thousands of dates to help you with your project.
You can find even more books than those listed below by searching our Catalog by Subject for Chronology.
- History for Genealogists: Using Chronological Time Lines to Find and Understand Your Ancestors. Covers timelines throughout history and shows how genealogists use them effectively to find their ancestors. 929.1 JAC
- "Timelines". NGS News Magazine, vol. 34 no. 3 (July - Sept. 2008): pgs. 38 - 42. Explains how genealogists use timelines. 929.1 NGS NCC v.34, 2008
- HyperHistory: Click on a name for a short biography; includes historical maps.
- List of Years: Find Wikipedia articles on individual years.
- OurTimeLines.com: A place to create your own timelines between specific dates.
- Dictionary of Dates (2 vols). Covers through 1930. R902 KEL
- Timelines of World History. R909.02 TEE
- Timetables of History. 4500 B.C. - 1990's. R902.02 GRU
American & 20th Century
- Archer Audio Archives: The 1900s: Headlines and audio from 1900 - 1999.
- Tables of U.S. History: Covers many topics in history.
- Timelines of the 20th Century.
- Almanacs of American Life: Modern America, 1914 to 1945. R973.9 GRE
- Almanacs of American Life: Victorian America, 1876 to 1913. R973.8 SHI
- American Chronicle: 1900 to 1998. R973.91 GOR
- American Headlines Year by Year. 1776 - 1984. R973.02 A
- The American Years (2 vols). Colonial era through 2002; index is in vol. 2. R973.02 AME
- Encyclopedia of American Facts and Dates. 10th century through 20th century. R973.02 CAR
- Famous First Facts. Indexed by years. R031.02 KAN, Ready Reference
- Landmark Legislation 1774-2002. Major U.S. acts and treaties arranged chronologically by Congress. R348.73 STA
- The Timechart History of America. R973 TIM
- Timelines of African American History. 1492 - 1993. R973.049673 COW
These titles reproduce pages from The New York Times:
- The Depression Years as Reported by the New York Times. R330.973 DEP
- Day by Day, the Forties. R909.82 L
- Day by Day, the Fifties. R909.82 MER
- Day by Day, the Sixties. R909.82 P OVER
- Day by Day, the Seventies (2 vols). R909.82 L OVER
- Day by Day, the Eighties (2 vols). R909.82 MEL
- Day by Day, the Nineties (2 vols). R909.82 AVA
- North Carolina History Timeline
- Chronology and Documentary Handbook of the State of North Carolina. Covers 1524-1977. 975.6 C NCC
- On This Day in North Carolina. 975.6 POW NCC
- The Literary Life - a Scrapbook Almanac of the Anglo-American Literary Scene from 1900 to 1950. R016.82 P
- The Triple Stream: Four Centuries of English, French and German Literature, 1531-1930. Authors and books, year by year. R802 B
- Rock & Roll Year by Year. The first section covers 1950-1954; beginning in 1955 there is an entry for each year through 2002. R781.66 CRA
- The Value of a Dollar: Prices and Incomes in the United States, 1860-1999. R338.52 VAL
Science & Technology
- Timelines of Invention and Technology: Invention and technology timelines tell the history of famous 16th, 17th, 18th, 19th and 20th century events.
- Asimov's Chronology of Science and Discovery. 4 million B. C. - 1988. R509 A
- Chronology of Science from Stonehenge to the Human Genome Project. R502.02 CHR
- National Geographic Concise History of Science & Invention: An Illustrated Time Line. R509 CON
- Science and Technology Firsts. Through 1996. R609 BRU
Please take note: The Internet addresses above are provided for informational purposes. The Library assumes no responsibility for the content of sites maintained by other organizations or persons.